Cinemas and etiquette

It’s Friday night. I just passed my final revised thesis proposal in the Political Science department. I’m with my friends. So we’re out to chill.

Later on. Me and my friend, Janice, decided to watch Captain America: The Winter Soldier. So, we’re inside the cinema, waiting for the movie to start.

When the movie started, we were blessed to have 2 high school girls beside us. And we were so blessed because they can’t seem to shut the fuck up. People around us, including me, kept on hushing them, but to no avail.

So, the ultimatum came. There are these 2 high school girls, who kept on talking about God-knows-what out loud inside the cinema while the movie is going on. [Spoiler alert: If you haven’t watch the movie yet, you better stop reading. If you already watched it, then carry on if you must.] Then this scene where they show that Nick Fury is still alive came, then this one girl looked at her friend and said ‘SEE?! I TOLD YOU HE’S ALIVE!’ out loud.

No shit, Sherlock.

I got irritated and replied, ‘SHUT UP!’ in the most bitchiest, sassiest way I could.

They shut up.

So, I think I won that time, ’cause everyone around us laughed. Laughed at the fact that someone has finally owned the noisy ones.

But, unfortunately, they didn’t get the memo and still was noisy until the end of the movie. Suckers.

Sorry, but I assumed that having an etiquette is implied. I assumed that everyone in this world knows how to behave in public, especially in cinemas. Turns out, I am wrong. I have come across these kids before, still in the cinemas. It makes me ask questions: what happened? Did they ever listen to their parents? Where are their parents? What are their parents doing? Are the parents too busy to work to satisfy the wants of their kids? It’s fucked up, dude. It’s fucked up.

I am surprised. When I was 13 I knew how to behave in public. I knew how to respect each person’s space. 13 year olds these days barely know how to behave. Hell, they even look like college students! Have we fucked up? Or are we that fucked up? I think not.

It’s not wrong to talk in the cinemas. Just make small, hushed talks with your friend. But not like you’re having a conversation in a park or somewhere open.

Also, parents, please. I’m no parent but, please, guide your child like how your parents guided you. Teach them how to respect. Respect has no expiration date. Respect is not just until our generation. It should be in everyone’s moral list. If they don’t listen, then, you need some power play in there. Bring back the respect and balance it with care and love.

Kids, please. Your parents are not your servants. They are your guides. I repeat, YOUR GUIDES. If you keep on asking them to buy you this or that, then you are missing the greatest things in life: Family. Also, MORALS. Learn how to respect each person in this Earth. Learn how to behave in this Earth. Mind you, it’ll take you to good place.

It’s just disappointing, really. How high schoolers behave these days. All the early drinking, smoking, partying, misbehaving. Tsk. It’s not fucking cool, believe me.

Leave a Reply

